Random Acts of IT Project Management

Project Management for Information Technology

Welcome to Random Acts of IT PM!

Posted by iammarchhare on 20 March 2009

This blog is dedicated to project management, particularly IT project management.  Here I would like to share the successes and blunders of the wild world known as IT project management.

I am an IT PM with 9 years of experience.  I have worked full-time in IT for 13 years.  I started out studying a lot on my own, writing text adventure games and such.

After 11 years in the Army, they were paying people to get out, so I went out and got my BS in Systems Analysis.  While at school, I did some freelance programming, ran a BBS and worked part-time in a computer lab.  At the computer lab, I learned about Novell and AppleTalk networking.  I was Sr Tech by the time I graduated.

Since I was already doing networking and PC support, I landed a job doing Desktop support for a while on contract with BP Oil.  I got tired of that gig, and I wanted to get back into writing code, so I got another contract job doing just that.  They liked my work, so I got hired on full-time as a project lead.  After about 6–8 months, I got promoted to project manager.

Unfortunately, in some of my experience, project management was more of an after-thought.  Mind you, I don’t mean that no one managed it, but no one formally trained in project management oversaw it.  Project management was done by the “seat of your pants”.

I have some articles published on Helium, a writer’s website, about project management and other areas of interest as well.  However, I decided to start a blog because it gives me a little more freedom.  I may cross-publish some posts, but undoubtedly not all of them.  Besides, this gives me a chance to test drive WordPress, and what PM can resist a shiny new toy?

Technorati Tags: ,,
Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
